top of page
Search
  • Kristi Jimenez

Meeting the Family

It took forever to get from the city to the middle of nowhere with all of this snow. It’s way past dinner time when we finally arrive at my parents’ house. Leon parks in the narrow driveway and while he gets ready to open his door, my body doesn’t seem like it wants to do the same.

“You’re shaking like crazy, Anna.” Leon says to me. He puts his strong hand on my shoulder.

“No shit Sherlock. We’re going to see my parents for crying out loud! Of course I’m shaking.” I reply back. I notice his face recoil. “Sorry…” I mumble.

“It’s fine. I know how you are with your family.” He whispers. “But don’t worry, we’ll be in and out in a flash!” Leon smiles at me.

“Are you sure?”

“We’ll be fine. Now come on, let’s get going.” He got out of the car and made his way to the back of the car. I take a deep breath.

“You’ll be fine,” I repeat to myself a few times. I take a heavy breath and slowly exhale before I follow suit. The small layer of snow is crunching under my feet as I made my way to the trunk. When I get to Leon’s side, he opens it and I see everything that we brought, a bunch of big, heavy duty bags. Leon hands me the lighter bag and he takes the heavier one. We walk to the door. Leon rings the doorbell and it makes that obnoxious sound, one of the many things I wish I could forget about this house. I could hear my mother beyond the door, say something incoherent to my Dad. I take a peek inside the bag: under the layers of towels, I see the handle of one of the guns we brought. There’s also the shiny blade of the handsaw, glistening under the front door light. In Leon’s he has the acid and a shit load of cleaning supplies.

“Stick to the plan. Got it?” I nod in response to Leon’s question.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Those Words

Summer Break 2018 “You’re the most important person in my life. I care about you a lot and I love you.” When those words reached my ears, my heart went, ‘Boom.’ I remember my mind immediately going to

I Feel

Today I feel okay. I listen to my friends about their problems. Give them advice and a loving hug. The day comes and goes A bump or two in the road But I feel happy. The second day I feel doubtful. I

bottom of page